Google just updated the Dev Channel (see release notes) and there are some interesting bit in store for the "I need to be in Sync" crowd. (Kind of reminds of Jason Fox's latest blog post on TR). No longer is it just bookmarks that can be synchronized but also preferences, themes and auto fill. Check the following screenshot from the latest release:
The wrench menu was also changed to reflect this subtle but important change. Note how it no longer says "Bookmarks synced" but points to a dialog window by just saying "Synced...":
Later today when I switch work and home machines I'll check whether it is working as expected. Here's to syncing everything.